How To Use Light Therapy Lamp

What Is...

Physical Therapy Schools In Ohio

Considering A...

Led Light Therapy For Face

There Is...

Arizona Board Of Massage Therapy

Therapist Voluntarily Surrendered His License

I-TEAM: 31 complaints of alleged sexual abuse involving Massage Envy therapists in Arizona

A third therapist, Gary Patrick Kahl, voluntarily agreed to surrender his license Monday after the board received a complaint that he had an inappropriate relationship with a client.

The client, identified as T.H., said she had a consensual relationship with Kahl and didn’t initially want to make a complaint with state regulators. But she felt he took advantage of her when she was in a vulnerable state after she had a miscarriage and her sister died.

Kahl told the board he does not deny the allegations and regrets his actions. He told the board the relationship was consensual, though that doesn’t excuse his behavior.

The board initially heard the allegations against Kahl at a January meeting, where Board Chair Angela Reiter told Kahl it’s inappropriate for a licensed massage therapist to have a sexual relationship with a client. It’s also against Arizona law.

Reach the reporter at or 602-444-8072. Follow her on Twitter .

The State Of Arizona Massage Therapist Requirements

Throughout the 113,998 square miles of The Grand Canyon State, approximately 9,472 massage therapists work to help the more than 7 million people in their state find relief from pain, rehabilitation from injuries, and comfort in the midst of stress and anxiety.

With 1,680,992 people in Phoenix, 541,482 people in Tucson, and 499,720 people in Mesa, massage therapists who work in Arizona can find an engaged environment to open, continue, or join a massage therapy business.

Arizona Board Of Massage Therapy Non Disciplinary Actions

  • CASE DISMISSAL: The Board may dismiss a complaint if they determine the information indicates there was not a violation of the rules of the Arizona Practice Act. This outcome is not available to the public.
  • ADVISORY LETTER: A letter from the Board expressing concern that the massage therapists conduct was not ideal however, the conduct does not necessarily violate the Practice Act or Board policy and no further contact is needed. This will not effect future licensure or if the massage therapist wishes to further their education. This is not shown on license verification.
  • NON-DISCIPLINARY ORDER FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION: An order that dictates the massage therapist must complete a number of hours of continuing education for specific topics.

Also Check: Physical Therapy Lower Back Pain

The Certified Massage Therapist Application Process

We recommend that you submit your application to become a certified massage therapist as soon as possible to the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy. The time for processing your application may take six to eight weeks. If you plan to start your own business, you will also most likely need a business license from your state or municipality before you can legally begin to practice massage therapy on clients.

How Much Will I Earn

Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy

The average annual wage of a massage therapist in Arizona was $52,619 in 2021. This is on the lower side of state earnings, with the average national salary at $53,222. Massage therapists who work in Prescott earn a slightly lower salary, with the average for this city at $48,697 annually.

  • The Guide to Charging Exactly What You Need to Succeed
  • 3 Ways to Use CBD for Self-Care
  • Can Exercise Prevent Pain?
  • This is Why You Need to Stop Discounting!
  • These Financial Reports Could Take Your Practice to the Next Level
  • Achieve Real Work-Life Balance

Don’t Miss: Does Electric Shock Therapy Work

Arizona Board Of Massage Therapysalaries

Highest salary at Arizona Board of Massage Therapy in year 2021 was $88,000.Number of employees at Arizona Board of Massage Therapy in year 2021was 4. Average annual salarywas $58,010 and median salarywas $52,020. Arizona Board of Massage Therapy average salaryis 24percent higher than USA average and mediansalary is 20percent higher than USA median.

Bd Cmsn Or Cmte Member Arizona Board of Massage Therapy
Bd Cmsn Or Cmte Member Arizona Board of Massage Therapy
Bd Cmsn Or Cmte Member Arizona Board of Massage Therapy
Bd Cmsn Or Cmte Member Arizona Board of Massage Therapy
Bd Cmsn Or Cmte Member Arizona Board of Massage Therapy
Bd Cmsn Or Cmte Member Arizona Board of Massage Therapy
Bd Cmsn Or Cmte Member Arizona Board of Massage Therapy

GovSalaries is not affiliated with any government entity. We cannot makeanyguarantee that information on this website 100% accurate or complete. GovSalaries is not aconsumerreporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 USC § 1681 et seq, . We strictlyprohibit the use of this website or the information it contains to make any determinations concerningemployment, consumer credit, insurance, tenant screening, or any other purpose that would require FCRAcompliance.

Criminal Record And Convictions

One question our attorneys are frequently asked is whether state law allows a physical therapy professional with a felony criminal background to get a license with the Arizona Board of Massage Therapy? The short answer is, yes. An Arizona Felony for massage therapists will not necessarily prevent a massage therapist from obtaining a license or a career in the medical field. However, the Board has a public policy on their website which covers the details of under what circumstances a massage therapist with a case that resulted in a criminal sentence can get a license.

You May Like: Pros And Cons Of Red Light Therapy

Arizona Board Of Massage Therapy Application Assistance

Applicants to the Arizona Board of Massage Therapy with a criminal history or previous discipline by the Arizona Board of Massage Therapy may be subject to denial of their application for licensure. Thus, those with a criminal or disciplinary history from other licensing boards will face an investigation by the Board.

How To Become A Licensed Massage Therapist In Arizona

Pet Massage & Exercise Techniques

When it comes to practicing massage therapy professionally, you will need to meet certain requirements depending on where you intend to practice.In 48 out of 5o states, you need some kind of credential to work as a massage therapist and each state has its own regulations.In 44 out of the 48 states previously mentioned , you are required to take and pass the MBLEx to become licensed to practice as a massage therapist.Also, licensure isnt a one time thing. To renew your license, you will usually have to also complete some Continuing Education course hours.In addition to getting and renewing your license, you will also have to follow the specific acts, rules, regulations, and laws of your state regarding the practice of massage therapy. To become a Licensed Massage Therapist in Arizona, you need to complete 700 hours of massage therapy school. If you graduate from an United States Department of Education accredited school in Arizona, such as ASIS Massage Education, you will be eligible for the license upon graduationyou do not need to take an exam. If your school is not accredited, you must pass either the NCETMB or MBLEx exams once you have completed massage therapy school.

Here is contact information for Arizonas Board of Massage Therapy:

Arizona Board of Massage Therapy1400 West Washington, #230

Recommended Reading: How Much Does Iv Therapy Cost

How Do I Become A Massage Therapist In Arizona

If youre ready to move into your career as a massage therapist in Arizona, you must register with the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy. The registration fee is $219.50. Once you are registered, you must receive licensure by the Board. If you do not register, you will be working illegally and can receive a fine.

In order to receive this license, you must complete a minimum of 700 hours from an approved massage therapy program certified by the Board.

You can find application request forms on their website.

Where Can I Study?

The Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy provides a list of approved schools where future LMTs can complete their 700 required hours.

Tempe and Phoenix are the most popular choices for schools in Arizona, with two leading schools in this area: Southwest Institute of Healing Arts and Arizona School of Massage Therapy.

Other education options include American Western College in Yuma, and Arizona School of Integrative Studies in Clarkdale.

Licensing Requirements & Massage Therapy Certification

In most states, massage therapists must be licensed to practice and receive fees for massage and bodywork services. You must apply to your states board of massage therapy to meet this licensing requirement. Prerequisites for licensure as a massage therapist include at least 700 hours of massage school. Upon successfully completing Arizona Colleges massage therapy program, our graduates are eligible to pursue certification through the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy.

Recommended Reading: Benchmark Physical Therapy Canton Ga

An Applicant May Provide One Of The Following As Proof Of Having Established An Arizona Residence:

  • A valid Arizona drivers license
  • A current Arizona motor vehicle registration
  • Proof of filing Arizona income taxes in the most recent tax year
  • Arizona voter registration
  • Documentation of a mortgage for a primary Arizona residence
  • A dated residential rental contract with proof of payment
  • Proof of major banking services in Arizona
  • Proof of establishment of Arizona utilities
  • Proof of enrollment of children in Arizona schools
  • Documentation demonstrating a change in permanent address on all pertinent records
  • Military Form 2058

Massage Therapist Administrative Appeal And Hearing

Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy

Any licensee may request an appeal of an Arizona Board of Massage Therapy disciplinary action to an administrative law judge with the Arizona Office of Administrative Hearings . In some instances, a case is sent automatically to hearing. The administrative hearing is conducted by OAH before an Administrative Law Judge . The hearing is not as formal as a trial, but is similar.

Each party presents evidence using documents or sworn testimony. They also give an opening and closing argument which should explain why the judge should rule one way or the other. A massage therapists attorney can cross examine witnesses and testify on his or her behalf. After the hearing, the ALJ reviews the transcripts, evidence and makes a recommendation. However, its ultimately the Board making the decision to either accept, reject or modify the ALJs decision. If an individual feels there has been a mistake they can request a rehearing.

Recommended Reading: Sound Wave Therapy For Arthritis

Arizona Cosmetology Disciplinary Actions

Arizona Board of Massage Therapy disciplinary actions are given to massage therapists with a license or certification in Arizona. If the Board determines formal disciplinary action is necessary it will happen after the completion of an investigation. Its the job of the Board to review any complaint alleging a violation of the Arizona laws and regulations. Thus, at an Arizona Board of Massage Therapy Meeting the Board will vote to determine the outcome of each investigation. The Board can vote on a non-disciplinary outcome or vote to offer the massage therapist formal discipline. Disciplinary actions can include:

  • Dismissal
  • Non-Disciplinary Order for Continuing Education
  • Probation

What The Law Says

The ability to move to Arizona and practice in a licensed occupation will be available only to people from states that require them to hold a license.

For massage therapists, the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy says the applicant has to have been licensed in another state or U.S. territory for at least two years of the last five years immediately preceding their application, or the applicant has to hold a current certification from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or another agency that meets the standards of the national organization.

All massage applicants must submit to a fingerprint background check. If an applicant has worked as a massage therapist for less than two of the past five years immediately preceding their Arizona application, they must also submit educational transcripts.

Recommended Reading: Best Ultrasound Therapy Machine For Home Use

Arizona Board Of Massage Therapy Complaint

Who can file an Arizona Board of Massage Therapy Complaint against a massage therapist? Patients, health care facilities, other professionals, among others. When the Arizona Board of Massage Therapy receives a complaint, the Board initiates an investigation into the complaint . After this happens, the massage therapist receives notice and the board assigns an investigator to the case. Please note, having an attorney during this step can be crucial for massage therapists as they must submit a response, interview with the investigator while also possibly appearing at an Arizona Board of Massage Therapy.

Responding To Practice Complaints And Investigations

Massage envy sexual assault Valley victim speaks out

After receiving an Arizona Board of Massage Therapy Complaint or self-report, a massage therapist receives a notice from the Board requesting additional information as well as a response to allegations found in the complaint. From here, the Board of Massage Therapy assigns an investigator to the complaint and they begin to collect evidence. The documents and evidence collected includes:

  • Patient medical records

Don’t Miss: Physical Therapy For Broken Ribs

Disclosing A Criminal Record For An Applicant

If a massage therapist license applicant is not required to disclose a legal misdemeanor DUI, the AZ Board can still initiate an investigation based upon the results of a health care fingerprint background check. The Board will then contact the massage therapy professional and initiate an investigation in their practice utilizing the law of the Arizona Practice Act . This license investigation determines whether the massage therapist is a danger to the public, has any medical or mental health problems and whether the massage therapist has rehabilitated in the time since the criminal misdemeanor DUI or DUI charges occurred. Simply, the Board wants to know whether the applicant can provide safe nursing care with a past criminal case involving alcohol or substance abuse.

Welcome To The Arizona Massage Board

Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. MST

For Licensing: Online at the State Board website,

download the pdf file for the licensing forms.

Print a hard copy of the State licensing forms, complete the sections by pen, & submit with fee payment by U.S. mail.

You can also file your forms electronically online at the Board website & separately mail in payment.

Processing begins when forms & fee payment are received.

Arizona’s fee payment is by money order or cashier check.

No cash. No personal checks.

1740 W. Adams St. Unit 3401

Phoenix, Arizona 85007

(Processing of Board’s incoming US mail takes 7-10 days

through 3 mail rooms)

Board email address is:

Board website address is:

NOTE: Initial license applications currently require

up to 12 weeks for processing

*AZ License Applicants:

FBI background check currently taking 12-14 weeks,

after receipt of an inked FD-258 Federal fingerprint card.

Please complete all boxes on fingerprint card for faster processing, before submitting.



The Governor has signed HB 2438 into law on 6/7/22,

Now: Chapter Law 281

After the current legislative session, all new laws impacting state regulation will be reviewed by the Arizona Attorney General’s Office before implementation.

Specific licensee compliance information forthcoming.

You May Like: Jag One Physical Therapy Staten Island

Arizonas Massage Therapists Have Been Worried Just As Have The States Massage Schools Resorts Franchises And Spas That Educate And Employ Massage Therapists

The cause of this angst? The inclination of the state legislature, following the lead of Republican Gov. Doug Ducey, to move toward deregulating professions. Along with hairdressing, embalming, barbering and many more occupations, massages regulation has been threatened.

But in a turnabout, massage and other occupations wont be deregulated instead, Gov. Ducey signed HB 2569 on April 10. The new law provides for recognition of licensed professionals. This means anyone holding a license from another state can move to Arizona and begin practicing in that licensed occupation.

Workers dont lose their job skills just by moving across state lines, but licensing laws often treat them as if they do, said Paul Avelar, managing attorney of the Institute for Justice Arizona Office, in a press release. HB 2569 is a common-sense reform that will help expand economic opportunity by making it easier for people to move to Arizona to further their careers.

Arizona is the fourth fastest-growing state, in terms of population, after Nevada, Idaho and Utah.

I think this is a really great step in the long-term vision of reciprocity and therapists to be able to cross state lines and practice, Cherie Sohnen-Moe, an authority in massage business and education, told MASSAGE Magazine.

It makes sense that if already jumped through the hoops and proved they are responsible people, why should they have to jump through the hoops again? Sohnen-Moe added.

Reporting A Criminal Charge To The Arizona Board Of Massage Therapy

Visit our Peoria SPA Wellness Center to book a full body massage in ...

Massage therapists who hold a valid license with the Arizona Board of Massage Therapy or pending applicants must notify the Board of any criminal charge that may affect patient safety within ten business days. Learn what crimes an individual must report and the potential discipline that can come with it.

Read Also: Health Quest Chiropractic & Physical Therapy

Qualifications For An Arizona Massage Therapy License:

An applicant may qualify for an Arizona massage therapy license by one of the following processes:

1. Regular license

The applicant is seeking licensure based on having graduated from a massage school with a minimum of 700 hours. If graduated from a school outside of Arizona, the applicant has passed the national licensing exam from either the FSMTB or the NCBTMB.

An Applicant May Provide One Of The Following As Evidence Of Authorized Presence In The United States:

  • An Arizona driver license issued after 1996 or an Arizona nonoperating identification license.
  • A driver license issued by a state that verifies lawful presence in the United States.
  • A birth certificate or delayed birth certificate issued in any state, territory or possession of the United States.
  • A United States certificate of birth abroad.
  • A United States passport.
  • A foreign passport with a United States visa.
  • An I-94 form with a photograph.
  • A United States citizenship and immigration services employment authorization document or refugee travel document.
  • A United States certificate of naturalization.
  • A United States certificate of citizenship.
  • A tribal certificate of Indian blood.
  • A tribal or bureau of Indian affairs affidavit of birth.
  • Any other license that is issued by the federal government, any other state government, an agency of this state or a political subdivision of this state that requires proof of citizenship or lawful alien status before issuing the license.
  • Also Check: At Home Light Therapy For Acne


    Physical Therapy Green Valley Az

    Doctors &...

    How To Use Light Therapy Lamp

    What Is...

    Cost Of Hormone Pellet Therapy

    Side Effects...

    Physical Therapy Schools In Ohio

    Considering A...


    Don't miss

    How To Use Light Therapy Lamp

    What Is...

    Physical Therapy Schools In Ohio

    Considering A...

    Led Light Therapy For Face

    There Is...

    Dpl Oral Care Light Therapy System

    Oxford County...

    Benchmark Physical Therapy Columbus Ga

    Benchmark Pt North Columbus Day in the life of PT Technician...

    Red Light Therapy Before And After Stretch Marks

    Can Red Light Therapy Help With Scars Stretch Mark Removal (Red...

    Dr Of Physical Therapy Salary

    A Salary Should Vs Need How much SHOULD a Doctor of...